aTAMMmommy’s Weblog

May 29, 2008

Top Chef Chicago – Steak Night

Filed under: Bravo TV,reality tv,Top Chef — by tammommy @ 9:29 am
Tags: , ,

Okay, so I can’t remember what the real title of last nights episode was, but Steak Night sums it up pretty well. You know, I was still upset about Dale leaving last week, and apparently I am not the only one, because if you go to the Bravo website, Tom’s blog even addresses it….actually since he wasn’t there that week, he mentioned that he saw what we saw, and that was it, and to him, it was dale’s one bad dish versus Lisa’s two bad dishes…so it should have been Lisa, and I am sorry, I am still upset!

Okay, now, onto this week. To start with we head to a meat packing plant and and the chefs are told they have 20 minutes to clean their own set of ribs, called a tomhawk steak. If you have no idea, neither do I. I know nothing about steak, it is not something that I eat that often, nor do I ever cook it. Once they finish, they are told to pack up and back to the kitchen they go where they meet the guest judge, a steak guy, and are told to cook their steaks, medium rare (yea, that means warm but still moo-ing at you, yuck. I think that is why I don’t like steak, the whole rare, and bleeding, and moo-ing thing). So how does it go? Well, Stephanie and Richard end up on the bottom, wait, did I just type that, yep, Stephanie and Richard, who would have guessed. That’s okay, they redeem themselves later. On the top Antonia and Spike, and who won…..Spike! Well, who would have thought that! Of courser this allows him to choose his meats for the main course and appertizer before everyone else, and we all know what happens when Spike gets a chance to pick first….

So the Elimination Challenge is to cook service at the Steak guys resturant that night. This poor guy, he was begging them not to ruin his resturant so many times, I think he was having second thoughts about doing this, but then again, he can bill the night as Top Chef night, and if the food is bad, people will still pay for it and say I got to eat Top Chef food.

Oh, I should note that there where three guests at the judges table during dinner service that gave their opinions. Who were they, none other than Top Chef’s own season One winner, Harold, season two winner, Ilan, and season three winner (should have been runner up) Hung. I was plesantly surprised by Hungs demeanor last night, I think he might have gotten a case of reality-check after seeing what an a**h**e he was on season three.

Stephanie wins the challenge, the judges liked her appertizer and her main course. She is headed to Puerto Rico for the finals. Poor Richard, you could tell that he was disappointed, then they annouced that Richard’s appertizer was their favorite and so he is going to Puerto Rico, and Antonia had their favorite main course, so she is going to Puerto Rico. Well done!

In the bottom, Lisa and Spike, now isn’t that a shock! Tom even mentions that Lisa has been in the bottom FIVE times and Spike SEVEN times, is that right? I thought it was the othr way around, I thought Lisa had been there more, but okay, either way, they both suck. So who goes and who stays? Well, you know I was really pulling for them to send them both home! But I never get my way, so Spike goes home and Lisa goes to Puerto Rico, okay that is sticking in my throat! UGH, Lisa, who can’t cook her way out of a paper bag, is going to the finals. All I have to say is she better get sent home ASAP!

On another Dale note, the call in question was who do you think got sent home too soon, and the options were Andrew, Jennifer and Dale. Would you believe that Dale rocked that call in, he was voted with a 53% vote as the one who went home too soon.
Use Buzzfuse* to easily rate, review, and share this item

1 Comment »

  1. Beef steak has always been my all time favorite dish and i am always looking for some new recipes that has steak as the main ingredient…`

    Comment by Isabella Williams — May 11, 2010 @ 1:00 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.