aTAMMmommy’s Weblog

April 23, 2008

What in the world is going on?

Filed under: General Life — by tammommy @ 7:29 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Okay, so a friend sent me this article in an email, and I hope the I have sourced it right, to give credit to who originally wrote it, but this is just too much for me to keep my mouth shut on anymore.

Teen Suspended In Beating Of Special Needs Student INDUSTRY (KDKA) ― School officials in Beaver County have suspended a 17-year-old student for allegedly beating a special needs student unconscious while other students recorded the attack on their cell phones. According to witnesses, the attack happened late last week on a school bus in the parking lot of Western Beaver High School. The 16-year-old victim suffered a concussion and broken teeth in the attack. Witnesses tell KDKA that the eleventh-grader attacked the 16-year-old victim for no reason – saying the assault was not provoked in any way. Though the bus driver reportedly tried to stop the attack, the witnesses say the driver was blocked. At least 8 other students recorded the beating with the cell phone cameras. Parents say they’re sickened by what happened. “It was just shocking and appalling that students would videotape it and that someone would even think about hitting someone who was disabled,” Linda Lamantis told KDKA. “Our kids are being taught that this is OK, it’s acceptable,” Lamantis added, “that it’s entertainment — it’s funny. And it’s not. ” Police in Industry are now investigating. Investigators are also trying to determine if some students on the bus actually went as far to bet on the “fight.”
(© MMVIII, CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved.)

I have no idea what the world is coming to, but I can tell you that when I was in school this never would have happened. I mean 95% of the stuff going on in the schools today didn’t happen when I was in school, and if someone had tried them, they would have been marched to the principal’s office for a paddling!
Yep, I grew up with paddling as a staple punishment, and no one ever tried anything like this. Somewhere along the way, we have lost the way.
Yes, before you start complaining, I know that there are people who take the paddling and spanking too far, past the edge of normal to abuse, but you know what, that has always been around, and taking punishment out of the schools has not lessened the numbers of abused children, in fact if memory serves me right, the latest numbers are on the rise.
The problem is that kids have no sense of right or wrong anymore, they are allowed to get away with too much, even if they are “punished” for something, the time-outs and taking away things just do not send the message that a good paddling did! I mean, look at the state of our schools. This is not the first case of a beating being taped, I think there have been at least four in the last week, and some ended up on YouTube. Enough is enough, what is it going to take for parents to start being parents again, stop trying to be your child’s friend, and demnd respect, teach them right and wrong, and don’t let them get away with this crap out of fear that you will hurt their feelings. This is ridiculous. We have taking all the parenting away from parents and the schools no longer have any power over children, and we have a nation full of disgruntled kids that have no idea what is right or wrong and do things like this for fun!
Enough! What is it going to take for enough people to get angry and stand up? I for one do not want any of my children to end up this way, and I refuse to pander to them in fear of damaging their egos.

Freelance Writing

Filed under: blog exchange,smorty — by tammommy @ 3:37 pm
Tags: , , ,

If you haven’t figured this out yet, I am going to let you in on a little secret, I love to write! I love to read as well, and being able to write is just fun for me. I have always dreamed of writing a book, or at least supporting myself with my writing, but I never knew where to go or how to start.

I started my blog in the beginning because I was trying to sell my handcrafted items, and although I still make them and sell them, they are more a relaxation for me than a business. I still love to make them and that is the reward. As my attitude and thoughts changed, so this blog changed. I started talking more about family and the kids, thinking it would be good for my brothers who are in Kansas to see the kids and what is going on, but I can’t get them to read them anyway, so it became more of my journal. The more I read about blogging and writing, the more I realized that I could take any topic and write on it, it would develop my skills as a writer and I would learn more.

Recently I found some freelance writing, online writing opportunities through this website, and although I am not sure of my skills at this point, I am so excited. The idea that I could one day be writing for other people, that I could learn and practice and get better at writing to the point that one day I might even be able to get that book in the back of my mind out and into print, that is just exciting.

Why do you blog? Do you tell a story, the story of your life and your family and your day, or do you blog to share information? Do you blog for the fun of writing or is it work? I love to hear from others, and that is one thing that is big to me, comments. That is how I get better as a writer and learn, comments from others. I would love to know why you blog, why you write and what you think. Thanks for sharing!

Looking for Workboots?

Filed under: blog exchange,smorty — by tammommy @ 1:23 pm
Tags: , , ,

My Dad is one of those guys that has to wear special workboots in his job, you know the stell toed things, and Mom and I have always been looking for them, because they aren’t always the easiest things to find, and when you do find them there isn’t alot of selection.

Well, I just came across a website for work boots, and it looks pretty good. They offer free ground shipping on orders over $50, and you all know, if you know anything about workboots, that making an order at that level is not hard to do. They even have to steel toed shoes that look more like dress shoes, instead of your typical work boots. Those are the ones that my Dad likes and that he wears in his job at the factory. They also seem to be the harder ones to find than the others. We used to have to buy his through the Union because we couldn’t find them anywhere else. Good to know there is an option now.

Well, I think I need to do a little more looking around. Father’s Day is coming up and that sounds like a pretty good excuse to do some shopping, and with Free Ground shipping on orders over $50, that is just another reason for me to do some shopping.

I’m off to spend some money! Check them out if you have a chance!!


Dancing with The Stars – ResultsShow – April 22

Last night was the results show on Dancing with the Stars, and you know, that means another star went home.

 

Marlee Matlin and her dancing partner, Fabian were in the bottom two, and they were annouced as in the bottom at the very beginning of the show, which I hated.

 

They shared bottom two, or the red light with Mario and Karina, and while I know that Marlee was not the best dancer, I would have been fine with Karina and Mario leaving last night, but alas that was not to be as Marlee and Fabian were sent home. 


You know, I loved watching Marlee dance. I know the fast dances were her downfall, but then what did you expect. I am just so amazed and proud of her to see a deaf woman get out there and do as well as she did.
She learned the slower dances and looked great, and she tried as hard as she could on the faster dances, but they were too hard, which says nothing against Marlee. I think she is a wonderful actress and person and I am just so proud that she risked it and got out there on the dance floor and showed they what she had.

For next week….well, I personally have just had enough of Karina, her personalty is just wearing on me, so she and Mario can go. Then Shannon Elizabeth and Derek, although I love watching Derek, she just still has not figured out how to look like a woman on the dance floor, no hips, and she can cry all she wants, in dancing the hips have to be there, and no just there, but overly exaggerated to show up. I think she is starting to learn to move the hips, but not enough to show up. Personally, I think Kristi wins this season, there is no one that can even come close to her, but then there is Mark Ballas bad luck, last year he had one of the best dancers in Sabrina Bryan and got kicked off way too soon, but still I think she wins it all. As to who can go the whole way with her….well, really, no one else is anywhere close.

Okay, so next week we get two dances. Let’s see how they do!

Blog at WordPress.com.